Looking For Alaska Review | Book Club Tuesday

10518900Title: Looking For Alaska

Author: John Green

Publisher: Harper Collins Children’s Books

 

‘Before. Miles “Pudge” Halter’s whole existence has been one big nonevent, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave the “Great Perhaps” (François Rabelais, poet) even more. He heads off to the sometimes crazy, possibly unstable, and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed-up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young, who is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart.

After. Nothing is ever the same.’

Looking For Alaska was my third read from author John Green and was a book I got from one of my library hauls in the Summer, but could only have for two weeks because someone else had already reserved it. Good job I read it all in one sitting. What can I say? It is John Green after all.

This is such a beautifully written book which definitely plays on the heartstrings. I was almost in tears and even had to text my friend because I was so upset and really shocked by what had happened. I really didn’t see it coming, and it was so quick and abrupt. How can someone do that to me?

I don’t usually cry at books, but this was one was just so heart breaking, especially as I had become attached to the characters. When the book was actually finished, I think it was even worse.

I just love John Green’s writing style, it fits well with the story he is telling and the characters he has created are very lovable,relatable, and really worked together well, making for a more enjoyable reading experience. However, the content and language used in this book, as well as some of the things which happen within the book, are not for a younger audience.

My friend’s, John Green has done it once again. He has managed to break my heart and fix it again within just over 220 pages. Thanks for that!

Lonely Girl Awards Looking For Alaska: 4.5 / 5 Happy Faces

Book Club Tuesday – ‘Finding Audrey’ Review

23305614Title: Finding Audrey

Author: Sophie Kinsella

Publisher: Doubleday

Audrey can’t leave the house. she can’t even take off her dark glasses inside the house.

Then her brother’s friend Linus stumbles into her life. With his friendly, orange-slice smile and his funny notes, he starts to entice Audrey out again – well, Starbucks is a start.And with Linus at her side, Audrey feels like she can do the things she’d thought were too scary. Suddenly, finding her way back to the real world seems achievable.

Be prepared to laugh, dream and hope with Audrey as she learns that even when you feel like you have lost yourself, love can still find you . . .’

First impressions are very important aren’t they? So much so that I am convinced that if I read anything else by this author that I may not like it, because quite frankly this was not the first impression I was hoping for. I do, in no way doubt that she is a great author, it is just this particular book wasn’t my cup of tea, and I love my tea so I should know.

I know a few people will not exactly agree with me, but that’s ok. However, having faced anxiety, I know how it feels to be in Audrey’s shoes, not as much, but just enough to have felt a recurrence of memories. It made me feel very vulnerable during reading this book. Not fun at all.

I felt as though the topic was not dealt with in the way that I would have liked for it to be. At a few points I thought that it was being treated as a bit of a joke. I know it’s good to laugh, but this just didn’t feel right to me.

Audrey’s mother, as well as a few other characters were extremely pushy and insensitive towards Audrey and her anxiety. Maybe it is just me, or perhaps it was supposed to be some sort of a message to people, but I tell you now, it’s not great to feel as though you have to just snap out of it and automatically change who you are. This is not the message we want to give to people about mental health. Sure, it’s nice to help with a slight push to help the person, but this was too much.

Phew! I am glad that part is over. Now onto what was actually good about it.

Audrey’s brother just made this book for me. He was such a comical character and did this without coming across like other characters did. I genuinely loved his relationship with Audrey. He acts like a usual brother, but also shows signs of someone who really cares. He also had an intelligence and wit which added so much depth to his persona. Anytime he and Audrey were together, the book was ok.

Sorry to anyone who may have enjoyed it. 

Lonely Girl Awards Finding Audrey: 2 / 5 Happy Faces

Book Club Tuesday | ‘The Geography Of You And Me’ Book Review

 18295852Title: The Geography Of You And Me

Author: Jennifer E. Smith

Publisher: Headline



For fans of John Green, Stephanie Perkins and Sarah Ockler, THE GEOGRAPHY OF YOU AND ME is a story for anyone who’s ever longed to meet someone special, for anyone who’s searched for home and found it where they least expected it.

Owen lives in the basement. Lucy lives on the 24th floor. But when the power goes out in the midst of a New York heatwave, they find themselves together for the first time: stuck in a lift between the 10th and 11th floors. As they await help, they start talking…

The brief time they spend together leaves a mark. And as their lives take them to Edinburgh and San Francisco, to Prague and to Portland they can’t shake the memory of the time they shared. Postcards cross the globe when they themselves can’t, as Owen and Lucy experience the joy – and pain – of first love.

And as they make their separate journeys in search of home, they discover that sometimes it is a person rather than a place that anchors you most in the world.


The Geography Of You And Me was the first novel I had actually come across, or read from this author. I do have another one of her books ready and waiting on my shelf, so I will be getting to that one soon, but in the meantime, I might as well review the one I have read. Don’t you think?

Thank you for agreeing!

Let’s begin by saying that I hadn’t originally intended on picking this up, however, after looking into what others had thought and their feelings towards it, I thought, why not? I mean, it was worth a try at least, and I must say, I am definitely glad that I chose to read it in the end.

Just like with ‘Girl Online’, the beginning didn’t manage to capture my attention due to finding it difficult to get used to the writing style, making for a slow start, but once it properly got going, I was completely hooked.

This book plays on the idea that it is possible to fall in love with someone with just one strange little meeting, but holding on to that love, may not be as easy, and may also require work, as well as keeping up with each others changing lives. It doesn’t sound so simple, but I really love it, just believe in the magic of it all and it will really get you as well!

I sometimes do a bit of an eye roll to a cliche like this, but this one, this one was just perfectly fine to me. I can’t fault it, and actually really don’t want to either.

It’s a cute little contemporary read, which will definitely warm up your hearts, especially at this time of year. #ADORABLE.

Lonely Girl Awards The Geography Of You And Me: 4 / 5 Happy Faces

Book Club Tuesday – ‘Geek Girl Review’

13621089Title: Geek Girl (Geek Girl #1)

Author: Holly Smale

Publisher: Harper Collins

 

‘Harriet Manners knows a lot of things.

She knows that a cat has 32 muscles in each ear, a “jiffy” lasts 1/100th of a second, and the average person laughs 15 times per day. What she isn’t quite so sure about is why nobody at school seems to like her very much. So when she’s spotted by a top model agent, Harriet grabs the chance to reinvent herself. Even if it means stealing her Best Friend’s dream, incurring the wrath of her arch enemy Alexa, and repeatedly humiliating herself in front of the impossibly handsome supermodel Nick. Even if it means lying to the people she loves.

As Harriet veers from one couture disaster to the next with the help of her overly enthusiastic father and her uber-geeky stalker, Toby, she begins to realise that the world of fashion doesn’t seem to like her any more than the real world did.

And as her old life starts to fall apart, the question is: will Harriet be able to transform herself before she ruins everything?’

Review:

Geek Girl is a book that is basically about me, or I so I would like to think so anyway. I mean, it’s about a girl who is a complete geek, loves little pieces of trivia which other people may think is irrelevant(it probably is but it is still useful to know) and can be seen as a  bit of a misfit, which I guess I am. However, one thing that sets us apart, is that she ends up becoming a model, not that she particularly knows how or why and then there is me, who is not.

Oh well!

Holly Smale, the author of this book and series, is the true Harriet Manners from ‘Geek Girl’ because what you see within the book actually ended up happening for her. How cool is that?

I enjoyed this quite a lot, and have continued on with the series, in fact I am on book four now I think, or should be anyway.

I really love how Harriet is both a comical, but yet extremely vulnerable character. It’s refreshing to see this and it allows for us to relate to her a lot more because no one is fully confident, or fully shy. It is good to express that balance, which shows that people are full of depth and have more to them than what may be seen at first glance. She is someone you can’t help but love and the way it is written makes for a more compelling and pacey read which becomes difficult to put down.

Lonely Girl Awards Geek Girl: 4 / 5 Happy Faces