My Life In A Book – Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless

To start off, I’m going to point out the obvious. The title for this post is a little deceiving (#Clickbait). How can my life be emulated through a book?

Really?!

  1. Yes. The main character is called Chloe which is of course my name.
  2. Yes. She is socially awkward, which i’ve been known to be.
  3. Yes. Chloe makes lists about everything which i’m doing now.
  4. And yes. The book is called ‘Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless’ which is how I feel half the time.

These are just coincidences. Me and book Chloe are not one and the same, so let’s just Toosie Slide and continue on before I overthink this.


Pre Review backstory...

As you may be aware, I recently came back to this blog with a full relaunch (you can read the post here), but this wasn’t the only part of my life I had to leave for a while. I did the same with reading. The last book I picked up being this very one I am sharing my thoughts on now. A real circle of events.

I remember starting it, reading the first chapter or so and then placing it back on the top shelf of my bookcase, not to be touched again, that is until recently. In a way it’s a bit like how Joey places his books in the freezer in Friends, although not for the same reason.

There was no fiery hatred felt against the book. I didn’t give it enough of a chance for that to be the case. I was in a place where reading just about anything apart from what I had to read for work was proving difficult.

However since the introduction of lockdown, I felt an urge to pick up that book once again and finally get through it, just as I intend to do with other books I have left staring at me on those shelves.

Consider it my lockdown mission. Makes it sound slightly cooler.


Let me set the scene...

It’s Christmas Eve (I was reading this at Easter) and Chloe, our diabetic and list loving main character is working the Christmas rush shift at a supermarket chain called GoodFoods along with colleagues, Gabe, Sammi, Micah, Zaina as well as her very obvious crush, Tyson.

When funds are believed to be stolen from the GoodFoods charity box, guess who’s to blame? The 6 of them!

The younglings, as they are referred to throughout the book, are held after work hour, where events unfold in what can only be described as a Breakfast Club 2.0 scenario.


My thoughts…

I think the best way to describe Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless , is to say it is a quirky bit of fun which moonlights as a lighthearted mystery.

The first half of the book consists mainly of character introductions, Christmas references which are always important, as well as finding out about the interactions had between one another.

Please don’t go into this expecting to jump right into a drama filled story. It’s not going to happen. Think of it like a rollercoaster. It’s a steady ride to the top and then…BAM. You’re hurtling down, down, down!

Anyway, returning to my point about the Breakfast Club. Just like that movie, each of the younglings are given traits which clearly in any case would clash, but forced time together must do something to a person. In an evening, differences are put aside and only understanding and friendship is left in its wake. Oh you do love to see it. It’s a beautiful moment.

For my first book back into reading, I can’t deny I enjoyed it.

A slow start. Yes. But once you get into it, it doesn’t matter. The overall plot line, the humorous banter shared and the interesting character developments throughout, and all within under 300 pages, makes for an interesting read.

I may be a little clueless. Maybe not about this.


Have you read this book? Are you reading anything right now? I’d love some recommendations!

Oh and before I go I must tell you about this. 4 years ago me and a blogging friend of mine, Ana Regina did an interview over on my blog. 4 years later I’m doing the same on hers. Check it out here.

Let the virtual insanity continue,

Chloe Lauren

The Reason I Jump | Book Review

21259527 Title: The Reason I Jump

Author: Naoki Higashida

Publisher: Sceptre


‘A story never before told and a memoir to help change our understanding of the world around us. 13-year-old Naoki Higashida’s astonishing, empathetic book takes us into the mind of a boy with severe autism. With an introduction by David Mitchell, author of the global phenomenon, Cloud Atlas, and translated by his wife, KA Yoshida.’


Review:

This is a hard book to review, because of it being based around the idea of autism, as well as there being quite a bit of controversy around it, but I thought I would give it a go anyway.

The book was written from the perspective of a 13 year old boy suffering with autism. Originally I didn’t know this, so I read the book thinking it was actually from the mind of an adult. In fact, I literally only just found out that it was from a 13 year old, and now I am wondering how a 13 year old could have written this book, especially to the level it was at, but then again, some people are very good at what they do, and in this case it is writing. Still, I am slightly skeptical, because of reading other reviews prior to writing this. I don’t know what to think now.

Every chapter is set as a frequently asked question revolving around the idea of autism, with which the author answers in as best a way possible. There is a lot of important information which I found to be seriously interesting, as I didn’t really know anything about autism before. However, it may not be the full story, as it just a memoir, meaning that it is mainly what has happened in his life, and how he has felt with it. There are obviously people similar, but autism is a large spectrum so it will obviously vary dependent upon where on the spectrum a person is.

The information may be of interest, but even the author does not know to the full extent why certain things happen, but then again, who really knows how everything works? Saying that, I still managed to learn from what was given to you. The only way is up when you don’t know much on a subject, so even a little, was a lot.

This is a book I am still trying to figure out. I am stuck in the middle with my feelings towards it, but if you want to read it, there is a lot you can get out of it, but don’t take everything as the be all and all. There is always more to a story, than just one person’s view of it.

Chloe Lauren x


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin

Our Song By Ashley Bodette Release Day Blitz

OUR SONG Release Day Banner

OUR SONG E BOOK COVER Title: Our Song

Author: Ashley Bodette

Publisher: Ashes Press


Becca:
I broke up with Trip four months ago. But with the exception of my parents, I haven’t told anyone why. Not my friends, not my little sister, not even Asher.

Asher:
I’ve been missing my best friend every day for the last nine months. Even though Becca broke up with Trip months ago, she’s still been distant, even when we’re in the same room.

Trip:
She thinks she can break up with me and then go on a “family” vacation with him? I’m going to prove to both of them that she never should have left me.


Teasers:

11741037_957726610939992_8835908683750186143_o11823149_969930049719648_2407625506239066885_o11792044_963479680364685_3299532801044343902_o


About The Author:

Ashley Bodette is a soon-to-be MA publishing graduate from Kingston University London. She started her venture into the book world as a book blogger, never imagining that one day she’d write a book. Now, you couldn’t stop her from writing if you tried.

Along with writing and providing editing and other author services, you also might find Ashley crocheting, watching British television shows on Netflix, playing piano, singing around the house, or, of course, curled up with a good book.

Buy The Book:

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon CA


I would like to say a quick thank you to both the author, Ashley Bodette, as well as Faye Rogers, the organiser of this, for letting me be apart of the books release day.

Chloe Lauren x


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin

Concentr8 Review | Book Club Tuesday

25710789Title: Concentr8 

Author: William Sutcliffe

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s


In a future London, Concentr8 is a prescription drug intended to help kids with ADD. Soon every troubled teen is on it. It makes sense, doesn’t it? Keep the undesirable elements in line. Keep people like us safe from people like them. What’s good for society is good for everyone.

Troy, Femi, Lee, Karen and Blaze have been taking Concentr8 as long as they can remember. They’re not exactly a gang, but Blaze is their leader, and Troy has always been his quiet, watchful sidekick – the only one Blaze really trusts. They’re not looking for trouble, but one hot summer day, when riots break out across the city, they find it. What makes five kids pick a man seemingly at random – a nobody, he works in the housing department, doesn’t even have a good phone – hold a knife to his side, take him to a warehouse and chain him to a radiator?

They’ve got a hostage, but don’t really know what they want, or why they’ve done it. And across the course of five tense days, with a journalist, a floppy-haired mayor, a police negotiator, and the sinister face of the pharmaceutical industry, they – and we – begin to understand why …

This is a book about what how we label children. It’s about how kids get lost and failed by the system. It’s about how politicians manipulate them. Gripping and controversial reading for fans of Malorie Blackman and Patrick Ness.’


Review:

I went into this book thinking it was going to be an interesting read. The plot line sounded promising, both informative and fun. This was not the case. I was expecting much more than what was given.

I actually only got about 80 pages through before I had to give up on it. I tried so hard to get into it, but I just couldn’t! Those 80 pages felt like such a task to get through.

The writing style was extremely difficult to get used to, and made the characters feel two dimensional, maybe even one dimensional. None of them seemed realistic, nor could I identify with any of them.

One of the main characters was narrating he book, but I couldn’t figure out who it actually was, there was absolutely no indication. It genuinely could have been any of them. I was seriously confused!

Talking of theses characters, each one seemed to speak in slang, which really made everything seem a little off to me as there were many grammatical errors. Now I am aware this was supposed to be the idea, but personally, I didn’t like this, at all. It made it hard to keep up with what was going on, and what was being said. It felt incoherent, and did not make sense to me at all. I really don’t get slang.

Finally, the story line was really lacking any development, even after the 80 or so pages. Every page felt like such a blur to me, and to be honest still does. I am still trying to work it all out.

Confused! That’s pretty much how I feel!

Lonely Girl Awards Concentr8: 1 / 5 Happy Faces

Lonely Girl x


Follow me on: Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin